Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Missing my counsellor.


My counsellor is away. I always struggle whenever she is away. Something I feel embarrassed to admit, but is true. I know that’s normal and okay, in a therapy relationship. A therapy relationship, is like no other.

I really want to talk to her about my book, how I’m feeling. I miss her. I miss hearing her say things that make me think. I miss being able to ask her advice, run past ideas and my discuss my thinking and emotions. I miss having that weekly regular time.

It’s weird to miss someone, who no doubt doesn’t think about you at all, outside of the therapy room.

In fact, the more I think about that, the more anxiety I am getting.

It’s all too familiar in my life. One way relationships, where you care about someone, and they don’t care back.

Now I just want to cry.




Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “Missing my counsellor.

  1. I am sure your counsellor thinks about you while he or she is away. Its natural to feel sad, it could be evoking so many old, old feelings. Love and hugs.

Leave a Reply

