Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

So many church abuse survivors. It hurts my heart.

Leave a comment

Through my work and online conversations, I have had the honour of speaking to many Christians. Sadly, though, many cannot attend church, due to the abusive and inappropriate attitudes, of too many church people. I understand this completely.

I went to church today. I haven’t been for several weeks. I’ve been avoiding hearing anything said about Cardinal Pell, the Royal Commission etc.

Sadly, despite avoiding that….. it was still to be a time, where I would hear gullible, non discerning people, not recognising red flags. The Pope offering his ‘gesture’ of taking two refugee families, was raised and labelled ‘so compassionate’. *sigh.

The Pope didn’t show any compassion to the paedophile priest survivors, and families of those who committed suicide, when he refused to grant them an audience – when they had all travelled to Rome, for the RC involving Cardinal Pell, and his clear enabling of paedophile priests.

It’s clear to me, the Pope, is a PR man. He has no compassion in his heart, because if he did, he would have that in abundance for those abused in the most heinous was – by in-house child sexual abuse, who were then further treated appallingly for decades. He showed he does not care at all. Even the man he appointed for the group meant to deal with this paedophilia in the Catholic Church, has since said, the Pope has no genuine intent to sort that issue out. He is a fake.

So, to sit and listen to the BS, that the Pope’s PR gesture, described as compassion, was so disappointing, triggering, emotive and made me just never want to return to a church again.

Church people, can be the most disordered, unwise, stupid, bizarre people of all. They don’t learn by all the many mistakes already made. They just keep repeating them.

They enable sex offenders, they cover up abuses committed, they shame survivors, by minimizing the abuse, and shift shame onto the victims, by claiming the victims are not ‘forgiving enough’. And claim this is compassion. *sigh.

Cheap grace, shame and abuse…….. all regularly enabled, at a church near you.

It makes me sick to my stomach.

I’ve heard, witnessed endured and seen….. far too much abuse committed by church people. And they feel so entitled to do so. Black and white thinking, many other cognitive distortions galore. And no-one is allowed to question, or suggest they are wrong. Then you are a trouble maker, who needs ridding of.

And this is just one of many ways church people abuse people. And it goes on in every denomination, not just the Catholic Church. Child abuse is rife. Domestic Violence occurs, far too commonly in church families. Spiritual abuse is occurring frequently. You only have to see how the LGBTIQ community, are treated, to see abuse in action.

And they rarely sort it out appropriately.

Do I think this is every church, no.

But, most.

I feel for every victim of church abuse. I don’t minimize it’s affect and harm. I validate it.

I’m not your average church person. I’m not a sheep, or an abuser enabler.

And neither was Jesus.

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

