Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Society’s obsession with ‘success’ & ‘shaming’ people.


Fullscreen capture 16042016 53144 PM-001

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Society’s obsession with ‘success’ & ‘shaming’ people.

  1. I have learned that success is different for everyone. I talk about that when I speak to audiences.

  2. This is a post that I think I’ve been clueless about. In 1991 December, I found mysewlf in a coma. After that, I struggled to find identity and an understanding of the world in which I lived. I was offered SSI at that time. I refused. In my mind, I had been tough and resilient for trying to work and I worked full-time. I was content just being average because to resume my profession and work was a huge accomplishmentt, but in the minds of others it was not. My IQ rose points from baseline after ten years, but I lacked in other areas a nd suffered mental fatigue. i also was depressed because I lost my ability to relate well in social areas without tremendous effort. Sometimes, I feel like the biggest fool because I got penalized for trying. That is my perception of my sad 25 some years post-coma. Have we become a nation that now punishes people for trying?

Leave a Reply

