Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

When the first interaction from a religious person…. is about forgiveness. *sigh.


Religious people, can be very tunnel visioned, very black and white and very lacking in empathy, or understanding about trauma. They also often feel very compelled and entitled, to shame you, for not being a ‘good enough Christian’…. by shaming you about forgiveness, grace etc.

I have come to realise, if the first interaction on social media with a religious person, is about forgiveness, I know I am dealing with someone unhealthy.

So, I utilise the block facility on Twitter. I don’t entertain unhealthy, dysfunctional religious people anymore.

You cannot reason, with people who choose not to have rational, empathic or reasonable thinking.

If shaming people about forgiveness, is your thing….. you are not welcome in my life, in any way. You are not going to make my followers feel shamed, by toxic religious and spiritual abuse.

Interestingly, my own Christian counsellor, hasn’t mentioned forgiveness, unless I raise the topic. She also agreed, I don’t ‘have’ to forgive any of my abusers. And if I do, or don’t……. that is my decision, and the only one I answer to – is Jesus.

Adding to this…. I didn’t mean for this to be posted to Twitter, but it did, and many have re-posted it and it has opened up a good debate for understanding the spiritual abuse that is inflicted on abuse survivors……… Which hinders their healing, hinders their faith, hinders their relationships with God.

I am not okay and I wont tiptoe on egg shells around church people. Not when people who have already suffered too much…. and getting further harmed.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.




Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “When the first interaction from a religious person…. is about forgiveness. *sigh.

  1. Hugs❤. I am always bewildered by the emphasis on forgiveness because I consider it such a personal decision. For some people, it works and for others it doesn't. Everyone is unique and has a different journey. There are some things so outrageous and unforgivable that many of the people trying to impose their view of forgiveness would have trouble practicing what they preach themselves if they were experiencing the same situation. And even if they are, it's not their place to police another survivor's decision or feelings.

Leave a Reply

