Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

My work is definitely more about abuse, than mental health.

Leave a comment

I am an advocate for abuse survivors, and about mental health. This is because I am both someone who has experienced considerable abuse, of every kind…. and I have been diagnosed with severe Post Traumatic Stress Disorder & Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

My work, focusses more on abuse, because Complex Trauma is severe ongoing and repeated abuse, within a captivity situation.

It is my passion, my calling. I’m in the arena.

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

~ Theodore Roosevelt

I think for people who have been abused and suffered interpersonal trauma, dealing with all the issues and layers of trauma, caused by this severe trauma, is required. Not just focussing on the PTSD symptoms.

I am aware the deep wounds caused by Complex Trauma, are about far more layers of trauma, than PTSD symptoms alone.

I talk about the types of abuse, many are not interested in, or wish to avoid. Like child abuse. Child sexual abuse. Paedophiles. Child sex offenders. Sexual abuse. Abuse by narcissists, sociopaths, psychopaths. Severe abuse caused by parents. Child exploitation. Spiritual abuse by church people and church ministers.

Many wish to avoid having to think about these realities.

I don’t avoid them and continually have conversation about these. Because I know the devastation – all of these types of abuse and abusers, cause.

Dealing with PTSD symptoms, is a small part of my journey, and I know this is the same for many child abuse survivors, survivors of highly dangerous toxic abusers, abusive religious people etc.

I understand the layers of trauma and pain, caused.

Interpersonal trauma, is very different to try and recover from, than non interpersonal trauma. I validate this.

I am so glad when I picked the name of my ‘work’ – I called it Healing From Complex Trauma…. as the first part. Because this is the most significant part of the trauma. Particularly when the abuse was inflicted to a child, by those who were meant to care and failed, in such and life impacting, profound ways.

I speak up and speak out. I am controversial. I am someone not afraid to write about the really dark issues and harm, humanity can inflict on vulnerable people.

I refuse to be someone, who keeps quiet. Apathy, is what keeps abuse occurring. My conscience, doesn’t allow me to have apathy. And I’m okay with that.

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil

is for good men to do nothing”

~ Edmond Burke


~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

