Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

No, what was meant to kill you, does not always make you stronger ~ Lilly Hope Lucario


Fullscreen capture 31052016 82246 AM

That old saying ‘what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger’ – is a platitude and not reality for many.

Unlike many people, I don’t put inappropriate expectations and demands on survivors of complex trauma and those with severe mental health issues, like Complex PTSD.

Empathy and compassion, is meeting someone where they are at and not shaming them for not ‘doing better’.

I see a lot of shaming attitudes out there and I can see how these can push people over the edge and can make some suicidal.

I am very aware of this.

However you are doing, is okay with me.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.




Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

12 thoughts on “No, what was meant to kill you, does not always make you stronger ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

  1. Many people in my life think they are helping me when in reality Their actions make me feel shamed. How do you explain it to them ? Or is it best to simply get away? I have severe PTSD and this post made me feel like I’m not alone. Like I was heard. Thank you❤️🙏

  2. Reblogged this on 'Enability' blog and commented:
    I agree with this. I actually hate the saying ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’.

  3. Yes, I’ve always hated that saying so much.

  4. Thank you for posting this, I actually despise the “platitudes” that are offered by people who have not a clue what PTSD is or does to a person. I am sick to death of hearing “just get over it and move on.”
    And I echo Mel…..I hate the saying “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

  5. That saying is one of the most ridiculous things to say to someone faced with overwhelming trauma and pain.

  6. good stuff!!! I am still struggling to get well after a short marriage to a narcissists who conned all people into believing I was the abuser…so called therapists as well… my father also is a narc and of course, sided with the ex…after I ended up checking myself into a hospital due to flashbacks and suicidal idaeation…I am so tired of trying to stand up strong again…I am appalled with the lack of empathy and compassion of fellow humans…just get over it attitude really miffs me…I sure wish I could bounce back to life and living, but, battling all the symptoms of C-PTSD is not easy…thank you for being there for us!!!

Leave a Reply

