Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

My article on questions to ask therapists, is ruffling feathers ~ Lilly Hope Lucario


My article on ‘questions to ask potential therapists, about complex trauma’ – is certainly ruffling a few feathers.

Article here @ https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/published-by-the-minds-journal/

This article has been published by the Minds Journal.

Fullscreen capture 16052016 113850 AM

Some feedback, is great and is giving survivors confidence to ask questions and know whether the therapist is adequately trauma informed, or not. And I am glad this is giving people confidence.

Other feedback has stated therapists are refusing to answer the questions and fumbling the answers.

One survivor stated the therapist after being asked the questions…. refused to answer them and then told the potential client – she was not taking on any new clients.

Red flags….

All this confirms to me, there are inadequately trained/educated/insightful therapists out there, as I knew, who are working outside of their professional capacity.

And that is very dangerous to a complex trauma survivor. Suicide is a high risk for many complex trauma survivor with severe complex PTSD. And the risk after being re-traumatised and having secondary trauma from a therapist, intensifies this risk. And deeply embedded issues of trust, can be severely impacted and worsened, by bad/inadequate therapy.

I’m so glad I wrote this list of questions.

All the feedback shows me, how needed it is.

Any decent therapist, who knows enough about complex trauma, will have No issue with this list.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

3 thoughts on “My article on questions to ask therapists, is ruffling feathers ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

  1. Thank you for the list Lilly.

    I whittled it down do the ones that I was comfortable with/needed answers to the most and have sent it to a prospective new therapist.

    If they are unwilling to answer then it would say to me they have serious ego issues or something to hide and lack of understanding of the need to build trust with a complex ptsd patient.

    The doctor was referred to me and had sent an email saying she would be happy to answer questions. I await reply eagerly to see if they are indeed addressed or fudged.

    Perfect timing for me.

    Thank you.

  2. This may be slightly off-topic, but please post. A week ago, I was listening to a guest on the Michael Slate Show on KPFK-FM, in Los Angeles. To my amazement, this nut insisted that PTSD does not exist, in view of the “fact” that organic changes have never been adequately demonstrated. This guy is AT LEAST a century behind the times!!! And, the host was very irresponsible in providing him a forum.

Leave a Reply

