Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

So thankful when I connect with others who understand my thinking


I wrote a post 4 years ago, about ‘how can narcissists/sociopaths/psychopaths be Christians? This was following being abused by a narcissist pastor and his equally narcissist wife.

The post I wrote, gained a lot of attention, with some commenters saying yes they can, because Jesus or God will ‘make them’ Christians. But, God doesn’t ‘make’ us do anything. He gave us free will. We have to want to surrender to God. We have to want to change our behaviour, our attitudes etc.

Following a post about spiritual abuse, Shannon commented – with exactly the same thinking I have. And as so few people think they way I do…. it is so good to see my understanding mirrored by another Christian, who is also a mental health professional.

Fullscreen capture 15072016 73215 AM

I am so thankful to have connected with Shannon Thomas. Much of her thinking, is the same as mine and has that depth of insight I crave from other people.

Thank you God, for putting someone in my life, who ‘gets me’.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “So thankful when I connect with others who understand my thinking

  1. This is so true. I belong to a Christian-based Facebook page supporting victims of Narcs and we have a new member who is going off on anyone who tries to tell her that her narc hubby will *not* change with God’s intervention. She will not give up the fantasy that God will fix him. Makes me mad but I try to have a little pity for her b/c she is in so much denial. Wish there was a way to help people see so they could save themselves sooner. 😦

    • Yes, it is very clear to me that unless someone wants to change, and wants to surrender to God, they won’t – so how can they become a Christian.
      And people do have tolerate the abuse, while waiting around for the narc to decide they want to change.
      I don’t believe that’s what God wants. He doesn’t expect us to be abused and just put up with it.

Leave a Reply

