Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

What doesn’t kill you, does not always make you stronger.


sad distance 2-004

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

7 thoughts on “What doesn’t kill you, does not always make you stronger.

  1. I have family members who insist their bullying made me a “stronger” person. The absolute rage I feel at that insinuation is beyond what I can describe. Being told that I was stupid because I was a girl, sensitive, into “weird” (aka stereotypical “white”) things did not help make me a better person. It set the the foundation for a lifetime of anxiety and second guessing everything I like and think.

    Thank you for posting the negations to this far too long held “adages” or whatever the hell they want to call them.

  2. Beautiful quote. It’s okay to be broken sometimes and acknowledge the horrific trauma, as well as its effects. Thank you Lilly.❤

  3. I agree with you…I don’t trust anyone, don’t trust my emotions, don’t trust God, cant seem to get over it and be better.

    • I am finding the trust stuff, very hard. And I understand when others do too.
      I also struggle with understanding God in the midst of all this. And I know He has broad shoulders and He knows out journey and all we have suffered, so I believe He is okay with us struggling.
      When I feel this way, I force myself to concentrate on one day at a time. It helps me not feel so overwhelmed by the magnitude of all the trauma and all the consequences of it.
      Much love,

Leave a Reply

