Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

I spend a lot of time, telling abuse survivors “I’m so sorry”.


Heart Ripple


Throughout my work, online, my website, my social media…. I have a lot of survivors express the abuse and harm they have endured. This harm can be from the abusers, from the family/friends/people who ignored it, from people who victim shamed and victim blamed, from religious people, from unhealthy therapists…. the list is endless.

Whenever someone shares their pain, and what they are enduring, I always say I am so sorry they have endured this. And they did not deserve this, in any way.

I say I am so sorry – because I may be the only person who says that. I may be the only person who validates their pain. I may be the only person who says they never deserved it.

Saying ‘I am so sorry’ are powerful words. Often abuse survivors never hear those words. Often all survivors hear is denial, excuses, minimization, and a range of other harmful and toxic responses.

And I always truly mean it. I am so sorry that any person is abused.

I always mean it when I say the person did not ever deserve it.

Abuse survivor are often re-traumatised and re-victimised, by the inappropriate words, attitudes and behaviours of others.

It’s so painful to be abused, and then treated badly…. when you desperately need someone to listen, believe you and just be there in an appropriate way.

From my own painful experiences, I know the damage of not having appropriate support and to be harmed further. I’ve been dealing with this, since childhood.

So, I always say ‘I am so sorry you endured this’. And ‘You never deserved it’. ‘This should never have happened to you’.

Because those words are needed for many. And I know many have responded how needed and comforting those words are to hear.

I am thankful to be someone, who can express these words, and mean it.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved.

No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, copying & pasting, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods.

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.






Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

11 thoughts on “I spend a lot of time, telling abuse survivors “I’m so sorry”.

  1. ❤ Absolutely!'' I am so sorry you have endured'' this is extremely important for all survivors who have not been believed in the past! The first time I was believed by a therapist, I cried with relief!

  2. May I share this on my blog. I think people need to be reminder; or indeed, may need to hear it for the first time. It is an important message ❤

  3. You are right, we never hear it from the people who need to say it. Thank you for being the person that can help the healing.

  4. Thank the Gods for people who think far enough beyond themselves (like you) to know how important validation is. You are a pillar.

  5. I am probably one of the lucky few who has had members of their treatment team say I’m Sorry.

  6. Lily, you are the Best !

  7. ❤❤ lots of love for you Lilly I am so sorry for you also endured this ❤❤

Leave a Reply

