Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

“Smile through the pain”


Earlier, I was sitting in my car, before school pick up. Tears pouring down my face, listening to this song. I forced myself to get my shit together and stop crying. I’ve been at this place, so many times. Having to pull myself together, so my children don’t see me so upset.

I put on my sunglasses (thank God for sunglasses) and walked into the school grounds, staying away from all the other parents. Hoping no-one would talk to me. A little girl of one of the mothers I know came over and talked to me. I forced myself to smile and chat about her lovely mermaid dolly.

A few minutes later the bell rang and my son came out. By then I was okay and he would never know that only minutes ago I was crying.

When you have children, you have to smile through the pain.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

3 thoughts on ““Smile through the pain”

  1. Lilly, you are such a good and kind mom!! Your kids are so lucky to have you as their mom!!

  2. This album got me through a really dark time after it came out. It’s surprising how helpful it is to hear her be so vulnerable. I’ve found myself coming back to the song “Burn the Pages” over and over just to hear her emphatically say, “Yesterday is done and you will be okay.” There’s something very grounding about that phrase and the way she delivers it, to me at least.

Leave a Reply

