Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

I now take weekends off the internet, to address better self care ~ Lilly Hope Lucario


Self care, boundaries and balance, are always an ongoing part of my journey. When you are not taught or modelled healthy boundaries, healthy balance and self care in your formative years, you often struggle with them in adulthood.

It takes insight and self honesty and the willingness to take advice, to improve these.

I have compulsive behaviours, which I have self compassion about (now). I also have issues with feeling overly responsible for helping others…. due to parentification abuse as a child/teenager. I was made to have adult responsibilities, by my unhealthy and selfish mother.

I have the self insight to know I have issues, and that I need to manage them. And I have the insight to know – these don’t change overnight.

You cannot change 4 decades worth of

belief systems and behaviours, overnight.

It takes a lot of time, perseverance and

willingness to want to change.

It’s a journey and a process, that

requires continual honest self reflection.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

 I have discussed this recently, in counselling. This issue was raised and my counsellor, who is also a doctor – stated she too needed to address balance when she first started her GP practice. She worked too many hours and needed to cut back, to have healthier balance.

I listened, and I could see where I am spending too much time on social media and the internet. Although I have cut down from the amount time spent online, from previous years, I still need more balance for a healthier life.

It was suggested I take weekends off and I agreed. If I view my work online as a job, I would have weekends off. So now I do.

This weekend was lovely and I had more quality time with my family. I was able to be more mindful of the here and now, and not be continually thinking of my online work.

And, I have noticed my anxiety levels drop on the days I am not online. Which is a really good outcome for my overall health and wellbeing.

I explained on my Facebook page, what I am now doing. I hope in modelling this better balance, others who need better balance too may consider their needs and address them. Which then will lead to their wellbeing improving. Something I want for everyone.

I am always upfront with my journey, in the hope it helps validate, support and give hope to those who are experiencing similar.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved.

No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, copying & pasting, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods.

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “I now take weekends off the internet, to address better self care ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

  1. Wonderful Lilly!! I feel the same way about limiting time on social media and online. It is fantastic to be able to reach people through the web but self-care, moderation and boundaries are definitely things we all need more of. I am so happy to hear you are enjoying yourself on the weekends unplugged!❤

    • Thank you Shahida!

      Yes it is much needed self care and boundaries I reflected on – that will improve my wellbeing.
      Hopefully this will help others to reflect on whether theirs needs attention too.
      We all deserve great self care – as you know – being a self care warrior!!🙂

  2. I’ve learned so much from this blog about self care and boundaries.

    I had zero of both until I began following this blog.

    Was just surviving by way of Protection Devices and Defense Mechanisims and other behaviors that began in childhood in order to not die.

    Now I’m working on replacing those with Self Care and Boundaries because Protection Devices make my adult life worse not better.

Leave a Reply

