Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

How can people abuse others & have no remorse, shame or guilt? Because they are ‘disturbed characters’ – as per an expert.


To those us of who have a conscience and feel bad about anything even minor we do that has hurt someone….. we wonder….. how can someone be so intentionally abusive, cause so much prolonged harm and suffering, and not feel bad about themselves or feel guilt about their actions???

As per Dr George Simon – an expert in toxic people…. it is because they have a disturbed character and do not have a conscience, and do not feel remorse, shame or guilt.

And despite what many will say…… there is in fact a healthy amount of shame and guilt felt by people with a healthy character, when they have done something wrong that hurts someone.

As I read more articles by Dr George Simon, I am validated in my understanding of toxic people and their lack of conscience. But, with the insight that they do know what they do is wrong, and they make choices to cause harm.


This is also explained in the book my Dr Robert Hare (world expert in psychopathy/sociopathy) named ‘Without Conscience’.


And it’s worth noting, most psychopaths are not serial killers or serial rapists. They are often undetected, living amongst us – unknown to be a ‘disturbed character’ unless you know how to detect them, due to their lack of empathy, conscience, guilt, remorse. And they can fake these – so it takes considerable awareness to detect them. Even Dr Robert Hare admits to being manipulated by them.

My insight – that toxic people will keep causing harm, unless they choose to feel remorse, choose to develop shame and guilt… is also validated in Dr George Simon’s work.

When someone is rewarded by their own toxic behaviours, and they feel no shame, no guilt and no remorse, they will likely continue these toxic, abusive behaviours. Which I have known and seen, all my life.

So when I see people talk about shame and guilt being unnecessary emotions, I know that is wrong.

I also note, unhealthy levels of shame and guilt present in ‘good neurotic’ people, is something many complex trauma survivors feel. I understand the term neurotic means very anxious and with regard to complex trauma, the person victimised may feel toxic shame that is NOT theirs to feel, at all. Often due to the shame being projected onto the victim, by the perpetrator.

Dr George Simon also explains  a ‘good neurotic’ person, is very different to a ‘disturbed character’, as explained in all these articles

@ http://counsellingresource.com/features/2008/09/15/neurosis-versus-character-disorder/

Victims of abuse, should not feel shame for the abuse, but often we do.

And perpetrators of abuse, often feel no shame, when in fact, they should.

The shame is shifted from the perpetrator – to the victim.

The healing takes place, when the victimised person – moves toward letting go of that shame that is not theirs to feel. A difficult process, and one I am still dealing with in the healing journey.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved.

No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, copying & pasting, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods.

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.



Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

6 thoughts on “How can people abuse others & have no remorse, shame or guilt? Because they are ‘disturbed characters’ – as per an expert.

  1. Man I am too working through all this still. So much work. Thank you so much for all the good you do.

    • I have been researching and processing the psychology of toxic people for the last 4-5 years.
      I’m actually at the point of being confident in my understanding of toxic people, their behaviours, why they abuse etc.
      All the psychology insight of the experts in the field – have put into words, so much of what I have seen, endured and discerned. It’s such validation of my insight.
      It takes time and that’s okay to get through all this.
      We often need to do this slowly, so as not to overwhelm ourselves.

      • This is something I’m learning so slowly. But there’s this cosyness in knowing others are still also learning about these kinds of people.

        We learn so much in the healing process. I’m always learning. Thank you lily. ☺️

  2. learned something new from this reading…….the shame being projected onto the victim.. another light bulb moment. thank you

  3. Love your blog with great articles. Keep working on your research. I never knew the amount of abuse my children and I were put through until I worked through it. I didn’t know how strong I was until I made it through that and I’m still standing. Thank you for these posts. They’re great!

  4. This was so helpful to me. I have been married to a psychopath and around them most of my life. And I carry around an immeasurable amount of shame and guilt even though I go out of my way to hurt no one, not even those who hurt me. It is and feels crazy. This is such a huge struggle.

Leave a Reply

