Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Finding joy in beauty…. where beauty is seldom seen or appreciated


“Mum, you’ve gone bark…..ing mad”

~ my 14 year old, joking with me🙂

I have a thing about tree bark. I made a decision a few years ago, to focus and see the beauty all around me. I don’t find joy or peace in people… so I turned my attention to beauty in nature and all God provides.

I love sunsets and sunrises. I love the beach and the mountains. I love all the many magnificent leaves and flowers. It’s why I now love gardening.

Here in Australia, the many different trees have amazing bark. Very different, from very rugged and gnarly, to very smooth. Many different textures and I love the variety.

I take notice of this, as I go for walks with my boys and my dog. It brings me some joy.

I love tree bark…. and if that makes “barking mad”, I’m okay with it🙂

It’s an appreciation of beauty and some mindfulness, that helps my emotional wellbeing.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Finding joy in beauty…. where beauty is seldom seen or appreciated

  1. You are quickly becoming one of my favorite authors on this topic – your posts are refreshingly transparent and I like that you are straight forward about the complexity and painfulness involved in recovery. I glean hope from your posts – that recovery is possible – thank you so much for being genuinely you!

    • I am so thankful anything I write and share helps others.
      I know how much being transparent, genuine and honest mean to complex trauma survivors.
      I also know how much we need everything to be spoken about it in very honest way, including the pain and suffering we endure. But, with hope that we can heal over time, and the ways in which we can travel that healing journey.

Leave a Reply

