Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

So glad I have persisted in my ladies group :)

Leave a comment

About 8 months ago, I set up a group for ladies to have coffee and to chat.

Today, was probably the best chat we’ve had. It was a group of ladies that are now regular core group ladies who come along, and they are so lovely. They are all older than me, in their 50’s and 60’s, but I like that – because I relate to people older than myself, far more than people my own age.

coffee-cheers

There have been times when I have wanted to stop arranging it, and felt like giving up on it. But, I persisted and have carefully removed a few bitchy trouble makers, and the result of that – is it is a lovely group of nice, gentle, caring ladies, who talk about life’s good and bad stuff. We discuss life’s difficult issues, but we also have a laugh and some giggles.

Several of the ladies have connected with each other and are now friends and meet up outside of the group and I love that. Because there are many different reasons why people can feel lonely, and to have friends they relate to and connect with, is what my motivation for setting up the group is about.

I really enjoy it – and increasingly so. I love their company, I love hearing about their lives and what’s happening for them. I love to support them and offer kindness and empathy. And I can tell they really appreciate it and gain a lot from it. They often thank me for setting up the group and enabling ladies with a range of different lives – to connect.

I haven’t shared much about my trauma issues, but they know I’ve had a tough life and I’m into psychology. They are accepting of that and I feel safe with them, in a careful way, about my life. And feeling safe, is pretty important to me.

They are a lovely group of ladies and I am thankful to have been able to set up and manage the group.

And the fact that it’s increasingly lovely, is really great!

It’s all good for my self care, and also slowly building up relationships with decent people, in  careful way. And I can see the progress in my own healing journey, when I reflect on this group, how I have manage it and how I interact with the ladies.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved.

No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, copying & pasting, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods.

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

