Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

What ‘World Teachers Day’ has shown me about my child & my parenting ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

Leave a comment

It’s World Teachers Day today. My younger son has a wonderful teacher. So, my son made a card and we bought some beautiful flowers yesterday. But, what my son wanted to give his teacher most of all – was doughnuts. Because he remembered from months ago, her saying they are her favourite food.

We couldn’t find any doughnuts yesterday and he was really disappointed. So, this morning my son gave his teacher the flowers and card (which he drew doughnuts on) and I had a request from my son, to go and keep looking and find some doughnuts and bring them at school pick up time.

I encouraged this, because this is my son knowing what is special to his teacher, and then wanting to give her this.

So, I went to the shop and bought doughnuts and he gave them to her at the end of the school day. And she was delighted with them! I could tell she felt this was really special. And I thanked her for being such an amazing teacher and how appreciated she is.

I am aware I teach my children empathy, to consider other people’s feelings and needs, and to be kind and giving.

It is so wonderful as a mother – especially one that had such a terrible childhood – to see my children being raised by a compassionate, empathic, giving mother. And for them to learn these themselves.

Being a good mother – is a choice. And regardless of what you have endured yourself – you can still choose to be a good enough mother.

lilac-blank-poster-009

All this talk about generational abuse, is BS. It’s an excuse to rationalise abuse/abusers. It is purely to make the abusers seem less heinous.

I have no abusive needs in me, to try to control. There are no generational chains to break, because I am not connected to my ‘mother’ in any abusive terms. I am nothing like my mother and I have been everything good that she isn’t, since I was a child.

And this is who I am at my soul level…. not perfect – but someone with empathy, caring, a conscience and someone who cares about and thinks about other people’s needs.

I am glad my children are having a great childhood, and are learning the emotional development needs from me. And are cherished, protected and loved, be me.

And I am so glad my son and his teacher has this special moment and my son is the one – who chose to make this special.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved.

No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, copying & pasting, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods.

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.

 

 

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle. ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

Leave a Reply

