Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.


3 Comments

Giving Others Realistic Gentle Hope – Is Vital For Complex Trauma Survivors ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

My motivation in sharing my journey, in writing about what I process, how this complex trauma journey feels – is to give hope. Realistic, gentle hope – based in truth and reality. With lots of honesty and validation along the way.

I do write about the good, the bad and the ugly – because this complex trauma journey is not easy. It’s really painful, really exhausting and takes so much out of us. But, I believe every single complex trauma survivor deserves to heal, however long that takes.

I receive messages, emails, comments and feedback continually. Which is great, as it shows I am continually helping people in a positive and meaningful way.

This is just a few of the comments I received yesterday on my Facebook page, when posting my article published by Stigma Fighters. See here  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/2017/04/14/my-article-on-stigma-fighters/

Fullscreen capture 16042017 85458 PM

 

These types of messages I receive continually, really express how meaningful my work is, as an advocate.

Complex trauma survivors are in such need of hope, the gentle kind of hope that comes from insight, compassion and validation. Continue reading


10 Comments

The Life Impacting Consequence – Of Toxic Parents Destroying Their Children’s Happiness ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

DSC_2707-041

Toxic parents project their own darkness and issues onto their children.

One of the ways they do this, is to make sure the targeted child(ren) are not happy and to make sure they do not believe they should be happy. They destroy any happiness their children try to find.

Having my mother tell me this any time I tried to be happy – made me believe being happy was shameful and something I did not deserve. I only deserved to be unhappy – and even that was mocked.

Complex trauma survivors struggle to maintain any positive emotions. And this is one reason why.

Complex trauma survivors often experience happiness or positive emotions for very brief periods of time, before they spiral down into what feels like depression, but in fact is often shame.

Another reason positive emotions are short lived, are because when you are living in a harmful, toxic, unsafe home – abuse is always imminent – and we grow to know happiness is only ever very short lived, before we are enduring the next abusive onslaught.

Children’s brain are still growing and developing throughout their childhoods. The harmful and abusive experiences – affect the growing brain. Along with the brain being wired for fear, it is also wired to experience shame – as soon as any positive emotions are felt.

Having abusive parents – is horrendous and a childhood no child should ever endure. Continue reading